Alternate Core Documents

A place to discuss any PnP (Pen and Paper) role-playing games you are working on.
User avatar
TheWanderingZebra
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 8:26 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby TheWanderingZebra » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:25 am

Speaking of attacking with two weapons, I wanted to ask something about how unarmed weapons worked for four legged races. Is it actually possible to equip an unarmed weapon on each hoof without having to spend AP to switch weapons?
"There is no such thing as mental illness, hence also no such thing as psychotherapy." - Lachlan Morris

User avatar
SilverlightPony
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 493
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:21 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby SilverlightPony » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:41 am

Were I GM'ing, I would allow it, with the house rule being it's completely impossible to land a hit on a pony-size target unless you get a crit.
Silverlight the Unicorn
Host, Voice of Equestria Podcast
http://www.voiceofequestria.com/

Image

User avatar
Seraph-Colak
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:38 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby Seraph-Colak » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:42 pm

Viewing_Glass wrote:You can only attack with two weapons. Not more. You can hold more (like in TK) but only attack with two.

Why can you only attack with two?

User avatar
SilverlightPony
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 493
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:21 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby SilverlightPony » Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:12 pm

My guess would be either (a) Word of Kkat, or (b) they couldn't agree on how big the penalty for 3+ should be.
Silverlight the Unicorn
Host, Voice of Equestria Podcast
http://www.voiceofequestria.com/

Image

User avatar
TheWanderingZebra
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 8:26 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby TheWanderingZebra » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:43 pm

SilverlightPony wrote:Were I GM'ing, I would allow it, with the house rule being it's completely impossible to land a hit on a pony-size target unless you get a crit.

So if I were to actually equip two powerhooves on my character's hind legs, it'd be impossible to land a hit? Or were you responding to something else?
"There is no such thing as mental illness, hence also no such thing as psychotherapy." - Lachlan Morris

User avatar
SilverlightPony
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 493
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:21 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby SilverlightPony » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:46 pm

I'm thinking of ranged weapons, not melee, and was responding to "attacking with 3 or more weapons".
Last edited by SilverlightPony on Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Silverlight the Unicorn
Host, Voice of Equestria Podcast
http://www.voiceofequestria.com/

Image

The Custodian
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:15 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby The Custodian » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:46 pm

HAving 'tripple wielded' before. The penalty i had applied was just another -20 (For -40 total). Granted this was all against one enemy. (Two 'power hoof weapons and a battle tail)

Id imagine the penalty for targeting more than one enemy would be larger by quite a bit (-80?)

User avatar
TyrannisUmbra
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 523
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:46 am
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby TyrannisUmbra » Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:46 pm

Keep in mind that the only ponies that can physically do more than dual-wield are unicorns, and since firing a weapon is a 'fine manipulation' action, it is limited by VER. So you would definitely not be able to wield and attack with 25 weapons at once.
Primary IRC nicks: TyrannisUmbra, Silver_Wing
Current PNP characters: <Non-FoE Only>

Godna
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:53 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby Godna » Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:04 pm

well technically...you could if you were a one trick pony with the VERS option... :pipshrug:

The Custodian
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:15 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Alternate Core Documents

Postby The Custodian » Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:56 pm

TyrannisUmbra wrote:Keep in mind that the only ponies that can physically do more than dual-wield are unicorns, and since firing a weapon is a 'fine manipulation' action, it is limited by VER. So you would definitely not be able to wield and attack with 25 weapons at once.


Actually, a griffon can technically quad wield. ONe pistol in both hands, a pistol modified to fire from the mouth, and finally one more wielded via tail trick (Arguable if tail trick would allow you to wield a weapon), finally add in a battlesaddle? Triggered not by a mouthpiece but... idk, legs?

Anypony meanwhile in Enclave power armor can use the stinger and 2 hoof weapons at once. Maybe even add in a set of Wingblades to quad wield in melee as well.


Return to “PnP RPG”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests